About us

Bridging between urbanists, architects and landscape designers

Henri Bava, Michel Hössler and Olivier Philippe, the three founders and directors of Agence Ter, all driven by the same curiosity, are pushing back the limits of their profession by experimenting with a transverse approach to urban and territorial projects, far from the usual opposition between urban planners, architects and landscape designers.

The continuous broadening of the in-house expertise now means that Agence Ter can offer solutions to complex urban planning projects, still approaching them from the landscape perspective. The three founders and their team focus their attention on existing conditions, the context, relying on certain outstanding elements of the landscape to propose a conceptual approach capable of maintaining the constituent components of a site whilst triggering a renewal of the venue. The three associates act with the firm desire to promote landscape as a vector for metropolitan change.

Conceptualising the essence of a project whilst using physical, geographical or historical and memory-based elements as a foundation allows a better shared understanding of the challenges, fostering dialogue between the stakeholders and facilitating interactive exchanges with the residents. Far from opposing the contextual and conceptual approaches, Agence Ter aims on the contrary to achieve a judicious balance of the two, ultimately operating at different scales, from the district to the inter-urban area, and all the way up to the large-scale territory.

Understanding the territory as a whole to imagine the urban landscapes of tomorrow

The possibility of exploring large-scale territories was very quickly offered to Agence Ter, almost on its creation: the direction set by incoming orders and the desire to diversify experiences led the three associates, based in Paris, to create different branches firstly in French Guyana then in Germany. This contact with territory-related issues in different cultural contexts allowed the acquisition of a real capacity to adapt to the most wide ranging scales and grasp cultural specificities to support the development of the territory, whilst maintaining a common theme.

Agence Ter is now developing its approach to large metropolitan territories through planning studies placing the geography and its landscapes at the centre of the city-territory problematic, thus offering a tool for change, within the frame of a concerted approach, at a very early stage of the project with the involvement of all stakeholders.

Developing an integrated approach with geography

The contemporary city is constantly changing and the urban, peri-urban and suburban aspects must be considered more often than not with, in that order, a greater landscape presence. The goal is therefore to successfully combine landscape and urban aspects through constant research. It is only by starting from the landscape, and the understanding of this, that we can develop new urban forms: the range for experimentation is now very broad, fostered by the widely shared desire and obligation to address at a very early stage of the project the questions regarding the environment, surface water management, energy efficiency, the optimisation of public-space maintenance, the integration of new materials and technologies. This goes well beyond the issue of sustainable constructions as it is the notion of a sustainable territory that must be considered within the context of a project approach, for example to demonstrate that the creation of a new urban structure can strengthen a site’s biodiversity. Over and above the question of urban planning, Agence Ter makes the most of what already exists to invent new ways of living in and taking advantage of the city: this is for example what is proposed in the «Inhabited Wood» district in Lille, or the Illkirch ecological quarter along the canal banks and the river district in Mantes-la-Jolie for which Agence Ter is the lead consultant.

An open-minded approach, intellectual curiosity and the desire to contribute to today’s changing world means that Agence Ter has a whole range of possibilities to explore on a daily basis, with the landscape as the starting point but without imposing limits: domesticating infrastructures, accompanying water movements, exploring very large territories, discovering new territories that bring new cultures and new approaches.

Agence

Dépasser les oppositions entre urbanistes, architectes et paysagistes

Henri Bava, Michel Hössler et Olivier Philippe, les trois fondateurs et directeurs de l’agence ter, mus par une même curiosité, repoussent les limites de leur métier en expérimentant une approche transversale du projet urbain et territorial, loin de l’habituelle opposition entre urbanistes, architectes et paysagistes.

L’élargissement continu des compétences internes offre aujourd’hui la possibilité à l’agence ter de se positionner sur des projets d’urbanisme complexes, toujours abordés par le paysage. Les trois fondateurs et leur équipe, associent attention au « déjà là », au contexte, en s’appuyant sur certains constituants marquants du paysage pour proposer une démarche conceptuelle capable de conserver les éléments constitutifs d’un site tout en opérant un basculement vers une nouvelle dynamique territoriale. Les trois associés agissent avec la ferme volonté de promouvoir le paysage comme vecteur de transformation métropolitaine.

Conceptualiser l’essence d’un projet tout en s’appuyant sur une base physique, géographique ou historique et mémorielle, permet de mieux partager les enjeux, de susciter le dialogue avec les acteurs et de faciliter les échanges participatifs avec les habitants. L’agence ter, loin d’opposer la démarche contextuelle à celle conceptuelle, recherche à l’inverse une combinaison judicieuse des deux attitudes, opérante in fine, à des échelles diverses, celle du quartier, de inter-urbanité jusqu’à celle du grand territoire.

Comprendre le territoire dans sa globalité pour fabriquer le paysage urbain de demain

Explorer les grands territoires a été donné très vite à l’agence ter, quasiment dès sa formation : le hasard des commandes et l’envie de multiplier les expériences ont conduit les trois associés implantés à Paris, à créer différentes antennes, en Guyane d’abord et en Allemagne ensuite. Cette confrontation à des problématiques liées au territoire dans des contextes culturels différents a permis, tout en conservant une écriture commune, d’acquérir une réelle capacité d’adaptation aux échelles les plus diverses et de saisir une culture pour accompagner le développement du territoire.

L’agence ter développe désormais son approche des grands territoires métropolitains par des études de planification qui placent la géographie et ses paysages au centre de la problématique de la ville-territoire, qui proposent une dynamique d’évolution, au sein d’une approche concertée, dès l’amont du projet avec tous les acteurs.

Développer une approche intégrée de la géographie

La ville contemporaine se transforme en permanence, il faut considérer l’urbain, le péri-urbain et le sub-urbain, avec, dans l’ordre, le plus souvent, une présence accrue du paysage. Il faut donc réussir à associer paysage et urbanité dans une recherche constante. C’est à partir du paysage et de sa compréhension, que l’on peut développer de nouvelles formes urbaines : le champ d’expérimentation est large aujourd’hui, favorisé par le souhait amplement partagé, et le devoir de prise en compte dès l’amont du projet des aspects environnementaux, de gestion des eaux de surface, de limitation énergétique, de rationalisation de l’entretien des espaces publics, d’intégration de nouveaux matériaux et technologies. Bien au-delà de constructions durables c’est la notion de territoire durable qui doit être considérée au sein d’une démarche de projet, pour démontrer par exemple que la création d’un nouvel ensemble urbain peut renforcer la biodiversité d’un site. Au-delà de l’aménagement, l’agence ter compose avec l’existant pour inventer de nouvelles manières d’habiter et de vivre la ville autrement : c’est par exemple ce qui est proposé dans le quartier du Bois Habité de Lille, ou encore le quartier écologique d’Illkirch le long du canal et l’éco quartier fluvial de Mantes-la-Jolie pour lesquels l’agence ter est mandataire.

L’ouverture, la curiosité, la volonté d’être dans son temps et participer à la transformation du monde offrent une étendue de possibles que l’agence ter explore au quotidien, à partir du paysage comme valeur et base de travail, mais sans définir de limites : domestiquer les infrastructures, accompagner les mouvements d’eaux, explorer les très grands territoires, en découvrir d’autres porteurs de cultures et de logiques différentes.