An international consultation –  « Le Grand Pari(s) de l’agglomération parisienne » (the big bet of the Parisian agglomeration) was organized by the state and its communities in 2008 – 2009. It questioned the functioning of the metropolis on the regional scale of Île-de-France and continued to trace guidelines, to define a canvas and to sketch scenarios for the post-Kyoto era. The current context and realizations change the situation and demand a renewed debate where new perspectives can be laid out.

Our study was firstly based on the potential of densification and urbanization of the available lands at the edges of the water, rail or road infrastructures and within the commercial development zones, and later on experimentation with an urban strategy for collective housing programs.

Thinking “big” is needed to address the issue of brownfields, especially in relation to the territory. These leftover spaces are redefining new landscapes and are offering new potential for activities as well as for biodiversity. The small and medium sized brownfields are reinforcing the connotations of hard surfaces in the city and often bring a negative image. At this scale, the landscape transformation is inspired by existing activities: pocket gardens around public transport hubs and in the proximity of educational facilities. These spaces differ according to their users: youngsters, people on the road, inhabitants.

  • Program / Project: ILE DE FRANCE / Grand Paris – Towards a sustainable metropolis
  • Client: Atelier International du Grand Paris
  • Project management: FGP(u)- Philippe Gazeau + Agence Ter + Ronan et Erwan Bourroulec + Normal Studio + Michel Houellebecq + AEU + BRLi + Transitec
  • Date: 2012
  • Location: Ile-de-France, France
+

ILE DE FRANCE / Grand Paris – Towards a sustainable metropolis

La consultation internationale « Le Grand Pari(s) de l’agglomération parisienne » engagée par l’État et les collectivités en 2008-2009 a interrogé le fonctionnement de la métropole à l’échelle de l’Ile-de-France et permis de tracer des pistes, de définir un canevas, d’esquisser des scénarios post-Kyoto. Le contexte actuel, les concrétisations aujourd’hui à l’œuvre modifient la donne et nécessitent d’instruire à nouveau le débat et de tracer de nouvelles perspectives.
Notre étude porte sur les potentialités de densification et d’urbanisation des fonciers disponibles en bordure des infrastructures fluviales, ferroviaires ou autoroutières et dans les zones d’activités commerciales, dans un premier temps et sur l’expérimentation de stratégies d’implantation de programmes de logements collectifs dans un deuxième temps.
Réfléchir « en grand » permet d’aborder la question des friches notamment dans un nouveau rapport au territoire. Mis bout à bout, ces espaces délaissés redessinent de nouveaux paysages et offrent de nouvelles potentialités d’usage et de biodiversité. Ils fabriquent des continuités de situations de nature qui interfèrent avec d’autres situations paysagères. Les délaissés urbains petits et moyens renforcent une minéralité exacerbée de la ville et renvoient souvent une image négative de la qualité de vie. A cette échelle, la transformation paysagère vient accompagner des usages existants : pockets garden pour attendre les transports en communs, à proximité des lieux de scolarisation. Ces lieux se déclinent en fonction de la typologie de public qui les fréquente : jeunes, public en transit, riverains.

  • Programme / Projet : ILE DE FRANCE / Grand Paris / Pour une métropole durable
  • Client : Atelier International du Grand Paris
  • Maîtrise d'oeuvre : FGP(u)- Philippe Gazeau + Agence Ter + Ronan et Erwan Bourroulec + Normal Studio + Michel Houellebecq + AEU + BRLi + Transitec
  • Calendrier : 2012
  • Lieu : Ile-de-France, France
+

ILE DE FRANCE / Grand Paris / Pour une métropole durable