Agence Ter’s aim in Arcueil is to remedy the lack of public space in the town centre and to develop emblematic places in an environment saturated by the urban fabric and its infrastructures. The Vache Noire joint development zone will be fully renovated. A network of low-rise buildings, located alongside the alleys, themselves centered around a garden, will replace the rows of tower blocks occupying the 3.5-ha plot. The current landscape of high-rise residential developments will give way to a more intimate urban planning approach.

The project adjoins the former factory of Anis Gras, which is renovated into a cultural centre. The Rue De Gaulle becomes the link between the new school square and the Avenue Laplace, the central part of a future pedestrian connection that will link two schools with the Vache Noire commercial centre with its roof garden, also designed by Agence Ter. The project aims to requalify and redesign the public spaces on the edges of the new or renovated housing.

To ensure the project’s integration with the surrounding urban fabric, hard surfaces  have been chosen in line with the existing materials while the planting structure is designed to accompany pedestrian connections and the playground infrastructures.

  • Program / Project: ARCUEIL / The Vache Noire joint development zone
  • Client: Sadev 94 + City of Arceuil
  • Project management: Agence Ter (lead consultant) + Bérim (Engineers)
  • Area: 2.4 ha
  • Date: 2008-2014
  • Amount: 3.2 M€
  • Location: Arceuil, France
+

ARCUEIL / The Vache Noire joint development zone

L’ambition de l’Agence Ter à Arcueil est de remédier au déficit d’espaces publics de la ville et de faire émerger des espaces emblématiques dans un environnement saturé par le tissu urbain et ses infrastructures. La ZAC de la Porte de la Vache Noire fait l’objet d’une réhabilitation complète. Un réseau de constructions basses disposées le long de venelles, elles-mêmes articulées autour d’un jardin central, remplacera les barres HLM qui occupent la parcelle de 3,5 ha. L’actuel paysage de grands ensembles cédera sa place à un urbanisme de proximité.
Le projet jouxte l’ancienne usine de l’Anis Gras réhabilitée en lieu d’expression culturel. La rue De Gaulle fait le lien entre la nouvelle place des écoles et l’avenue Laplace, et devient le tronçon central d’une liaison piétonne future qui reliera les écoles Aimé Césaire et Danielle Casanova au centre commercial de la vache Noire et à sa toiture-jardin eux aussi développés par l’Agence Ter. Le projet poursuit les opérations de requalification et de réaménagement des espaces publics aux abords des logements neufs ou réhabilités.
Pour assurer l’intégration du projet à la ville, les revêtements de sol prévus ont été choisis en continuité avec les matériaux déjà existants tandis que les plantations accompagnent les continuités piétonnes et les équipements ludiques.

  • Programme / Projet : ARCUEIL / ZAC de la Vache Noire
  • Client : Sadev 94 + Ville d’Arceuil
  • Maîtrise d'oeuvre : Agence Ter (mandataire) + Bérim (BET)
  • Surface : 2.4 ha
  • Calendrier : 2008-2014
  • Montant travaux : 3.2 M€ HT
  • Lieu : Arceuil, France
+

ARCUEIL / ZAC de la Vache Noire